Is there room for fear in God’s world? Part 1

Recently, I started watching the news.  I’m 35 years old and I used to hate watching the news because the horrific things people would do would send me into a tornado of depression that I couldn’t control.  But one day, last week to be exact, I decided to see what all the commotion was about.  There were shootings.  There were murders.  There were kidnappings and rapes and countless other wicked things.  And for once in my life I had the strength to watch all this evil and not be tormented with helplessness and fear.  For once in my life I realized THERES SO MUCH TO PRAY ABOUT.  For once I knew what I needed to do, what God wanted me to do.  I asked God how on earth I could dedicate enough time to pray for everything and all these hurting people.  After all, I’m a mom of little ones, a wife, friend, etc.  I was already overwhelmed with the amount of “stuff” I needed to pray about.  And in that moment of hesitation my mind started grasping for the familiar.  Fear and worry.  The fear of moving to a rural area (which is my husbands dream) where wild animals and big bugs live (I’m not a fan of bugs AT ALL), the fear of what America is going to look like after the new president gets elected, the fear of more bombings and shootings and mobs, oh my.  Mostly, it was fear for our future generations and how they would handle what situations would come.  

And can you guess how God responded to my fears?  

He whispered.  Just like he did to Elijah.  (1 kings 19:11-13). He whispered his promises to me, to remind me of who is in control.  

“But now, listen to me, Jacob my servant,  Israel my chosen one.  The Lord who made you and helps you says:  Do not be afraid, O Jacob, my servant, O dear Israel, my chosen one.  For I will pour out water to quench your thirst and to irrigate your parched field.  And I will pour out my Spirit on your descendants, and my blessing on your children.  They will thrive like watered grass, like willows on a riverbank.”  Isaiah 44:1-4

“For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’”  Isaiah 41:13

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  Lamentations 3:22-23

How can I not cry out “you are so good to me!”   So I brushed off the fear by commanding the evil spirits away, and I sat down with my bible and started to make a list as I prayed.  The list is no joke, there’s a lot to pray about.  But the God who made this world sees me and hears me.  And when he asks “who will we send?” There’s no other answer but “here am I, send me.”  

And with continued prayer there’s really no fear.  No fear because the bible clearly states God’s promises to be our healer and protector.  And the evil one cannot stand tall when we talk to God and he talks to us.  

So, do you have fears?  Then what are you waiting for?  Drive them out with prayer.  

2 thoughts on “Is there room for fear in God’s world? Part 1

Leave a Reply

