The Sainted Life

Are you a saint?

I am and I’m not.  I mean, I’m certainly not perfect.  I’m no Mother Theresa.  BUT apparently God thinks I’m a saint.  

1 Corinthians 1:2 (ESV).   “… To those sanctified in Christ Jesus and called to be saints together with all those who in every place call upon the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Since we’ve been sanctified and made holy we are now “called to be saints.”  Whoa.  Is that life changing or what? Am I the only church attending christian that did not know this???  I’ll tell ya, it certainly changed my attitude and the way I view other Christians.  Let’s face it, we women can be catty and a teeny weeny bit judgemental, but knowing that God see’s me as a saint made me start to see others in a different light.  I started TREATING them differently.  Rather than noticing their accent or haircut or political views, people just looked more beautiful and kind.  My heart wanted to embrace them so my voice took on a more kindly tone.  I went out of my way to sincerely connect with them in conversation.  And I started PRAYING for them.  

Yes, I know we all pray for people, things, circumstances, but I really didn’t know what it was to pray for people until I saw them ( almost) as God sees them.  This is when I started a serious prayer journal.  And I started writing my prayers.  Through these prayers I realized that no matter the difference in lifestyles we are all the same.  The same daughters and sons of God that are here for one purpose only, and that is to build up the kingdom of God.  

In short, we Christians are all saints.  Therefore, rather than focusing on the differences we have and pointing out differences we should be cultivating a life in common.  The sainted life.  

Dear Lord, though I am far from perfection you called me to do your work.  Thank you for continuously molding me and shaping me to be what you meant for me to be.  Bless the connections we make in this life and help us to cultivate them to always be uniting rather than divisive.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

